About Us

Did you know?


You don't have to wait for a

Tox-Away Day to dispose of your unwanted medications.


Drop-off unwanted or expired medications at the

Martinsville Police Department or 

Mooresville Police Department

24 hours a day, 7 days a week.


Click here for our brochure


Please do not flush any

 medication down the

  toilet or pour them

     down the sink.


On this page, the Morgan County Solid Waste Management District (MCSWMD) Board Members as well as information about Citizens Advisory Committee (CAC) for Morgan County are listed.

What Is A Solid Waste Management District?

A solid waste management district (SWMD) is Local County’s authority for information about recycling, yard waste, and household hazardous waste (HHW) services. An SWMD tracks material that is recycled, processed, or sent for final disposal (placed in landfills or incinerated). It also conducts recycling and household hazardous waste collection events as well as community outreach and education activities.

History of the Indiana Solid Waste Management Districts

In 1990, the Indiana General Assembly passed Public Law 10-1990. This legislation made sweeping changes in existing state solid waste law, including creating the solid waste management districts. Each of Indiana’s 92 counties (except for Marion) was to have a district or be part of a multi-county one. The districts had a number of responsibilities. For example, they were to develop solid waste management plans, with guidance from the Indiana Department of Environmental Management (IDEM). IDEM was to provide policy guidance on source reduction and alternatives to dependence on final disposal facilities.

Our Leadership

Citizens Advisory Committee (CAC)

Citizens Advisory Committee (CAC) is composed of Morgan County citizens who are appointed by the Morgan County Solid Waste Board. Meetings are open to the public. The CAC meets quarterly at 5:30 PM on the second Monday of the following months: March, June, September & December.

Meetings usually take place at the Morgan County Administration Building, in the 2nd floor conference room. For more information, please contact Leonard Huffman.

MCSWMD Board Members

Morgan County Solid Waste Management District Board Members:

  • Ryan Goodwin: CHAIR, Morgan County Commissioner

  • Norman Voyles: VICE CHAIR/SECRETARY, Morgan County Commissioner

  • Brian Goss: Morgan County Commissioner

  • Virginia Perry: Morgan County Council

  • Shannon Kohl: Martinsville Mayor

  • Ben Merida: Martinsville Council

  • Mark Mathis: President of Mooresville Town Council